Bachelor of Ayurvedic Medicine and Surgery (BAMS) is an integrated Indian Degree in the medical field. This degree programme is conferred to those students who studied modern medicines and traditional Ayurveda. Ayurveda is one of the ancient medical systems of the world. It traces its roots to the Vedic period. It is not only providing the cure but also prevent the recurrence of diseases. According to the Ayurvedic, there are only three kinds of dysfunctions or disorders in human body Kapha, Pitta, and Vata. These dysfunctions are commonly called the Dosha in Ayurvedic terminology. Kapha meant Phlegm (water and earth), Pitta meant Bile (fire & water) and Vata meant Wind (air and space). Ayurvedic says that a person got ill when he gets out of the harmony of said three doshas. The Ayurvedic system of medical care is based on the concept where Ayurvedic therapy is enhancing the natural healing capacity of the body. The Ayurvedic treatment includes the reducing symptoms, eliminating impurities, reducing worry, increasing the resistance of disease and increasing harmony of patient’s life. The Ayurvedic system is a trustful medical system to the cure, prevent and rejuvenate. Yes, it takes more time to make the patient fit as before, but once the patient has been treated through this medical system, he will find him better than before he was.

In short…….“BAMS (Bachelor of Ayurvedic Medicine and Surgery) is an undergraduate degree programme in old and ancient Ayurvedic medical system containing the prevention and cure to the body by increasing the harmony of kapha, pitta, and vata”.BAMS (Bachelor of Ayurvedic Medicine and Surgery) is the opening degree in Ayurvedic medicine and surgery system, treating the humanity since long past.

Course Duration

Bachelor of Ayurvedic Medicine & Surgery (BAMS) is a graduate degree course in the Ayurvedic system. This degree is awarded after the completion of 5 years and 6-month degree programme containing the 4 and 1/2 year academic session and one-year internship programme with live practical. The UG degree course is separated into three sections of 1.5 years each. These sections are called the three professional courses. In the first professional course, the students are taught about the anatomy, physiology, and history of the Ayurvedic system. Ithe n second course they are taught about the toxicology and pharmacology and the final course contains the surgery, ENT, skin, obstetrics, and gynecology. The entire course contains the modern anatomy, principles of medicines, physiology, social and preventive medicines, forensic medicine, the principle of surgery, toxicology, ENT, botany, and pharmacology. The graduates use the title “Vaidyar” before their name (abbreviation is Vr.)

Under Graduate Course of BAMS

The Under-graduate Course, Ayurvedacharya (Bachelor of Ayurvedic Medicine and Surgery) is of 5½ years duration (4½ years of the main course and 1-year internship). The main course is divided into 3 Professional Courses of 1½ years duration each. The admission qualification prescribed by the University of Rajasthan is Senior Higher Secondary examination in Science (Physics, Chemistry, and Biology) and Sanskrit or Uttar Madhyama of Sampurnanand Sanskrit Vishwavidyalaya with Science and English or any other examination recognized by the University as equivalent to that. Wherever provision and facilities for teaching Sanskrit as the optional subject are not available at the 12th standard, the students admitted from Science-Biology stream are taught Sanskrit in the main course. The annual admission capacity to BAMS is 92. Admission Notification is made at all India level and after conducting an Entrance Test, candidates standing on the highest merits are admitted to the Institute.

The Under Graduate course is imparted in the following Subjects through the 13 Departments having the required facilities and staff:

1st Professional Course
  1. History of Ayurveda Sanskrit
  2. Padartha Vigyan
  3. Ashtanga Sangrah
  4. Sharir Rachana
  5. Sharir Kriya
2nd Professional Course
  1. Swasth Vritta
  2. Dravya Guna
  3. Rasa Shastra
  4. Agad Tantra
  5. Rog & Vikriti Vigyan
  6. Charak Samhita
3rd Professional Course
  1. Prasuti and Stri Roga
  2. Kaumara Bhritya
  3. Kayachikitsa
  4. Shallya Tantra
  5. Shalakya Tantra
  6. Charak Samhita